Honoring the Veterinary Profession: Texas A&M Honors Convocation

At this year’s Texas A&M University College of Veterinary Medicine and Biomedical Sciences (TAMU-CVM) Honors Convocation, 46 awards were given to 59 veterinary students and faculty members. The Honors Convocation is one of the highlights of the veterinary academic year as both students and faculty members are celebrated and honored for their achievements. The Texas Veterinary Medical Foundation (TVMF) took part in the 2018 Honors Convocation on April 13.

Among the honorees were:

Small Animal Awards
TVMF Earl Waddell: Laurie Torkildsen, DVM (pictured above with TVMF Board President Dr. Chad Harris)
TVMF Johnson Memorial: Brittany Ciepluch, DVM

TVMF Earl Waddell Award Winner Dr. Aja Harvey with TVMF Board President Dr. Chad Harris

Large Animal Awards
TVMF Earl Waddell: Aja Harvey, DVM
TVMF Johnson Memorial: Karen Beste, DVM

2017 TVMF Student Research Scholars
Devyn Schultz
Hunter Greer

Pictured left to right: TVMF Trustee Dr. Roger Smith, III, Research Scholar Hunter Greer & TVMF Board President Dr. Chad Harris

The Student Research Scholar awards are made possible through the Foundation’s Buck-A-Year program, which lends support to the Texas A&M Veterinary Medical Scientist Research Training Program (VMSRTP), which exposes veterinary students to cutting-edge research within the veterinary profession.

Congratulations to TVMF Trustee Dr. Roger Smith, III for receiving the Bridges Teaching & Service award which is presented to a faculty member who has distinguished themselves with outstanding teaching and/or exemplary service to the college.

Please join TVMF as we congratulate our 2018 Convocation honorees and 2107 TVMF Student Research Scholars!