Inaugural the TVMF Outstanding Philanthropist of the Year Award

For the first time ever, TVMF President, Dr. Tracy McAdoo, had the honor and privilege to present the Texas Veterinary Medical Foundation (TVMF) 2024 Outstanding Philanthropist of the Year award at the TVMA Awards and Installation Banquet in March. The award recognizes a family or individual with a proven record of exceptional generosity who has demonstrated an outstanding civic and charitable responsibility and whose generosity encourages others to take philanthropic action within the veterinary medical community in Texas.

In recognition of generosity, selflessness, charitable responsibility and inspiration, the award was presented to Dr. Jodi Long of Angleton, Texas, and Dr. Janie Carpenter of Richardson, Texas.

Each of these exceptional veterinarians has helped make TVMF history through establishing our first endowed scholarship, the Dr. Eve Gerome Memorial Scholarship. In honor of her mentor, Dr. Long created the scholarship to support veterinary students from rural counties like the one she grew up in. Inspired by Dr. Long’s generosity, Dr. Carpenter significantly contributed to the scholarship to honor Dr. Gerome, who was a fellow classmate in Texas A&M’s Class of 1985.

Whether intentional or not, Drs. Long and Carpenter sparked a ripple effect of generosity amongst their peers. They utilized TVMF as their vessel for philanthropy and have made a meaningful difference within the profession we love so much.

We are truly inspired by Dr. Long and Dr. Carpenter and appreciate the doors both have opened for future veterinary students and the Foundation as a whole.

Congratulations, and thank you!